TechnologyWhatsApp will finally let you silently leave a group...

WhatsApp will finally let you silently leave a group chat

-

- Advertisment -spot_imgspot_imgspot_imgspot_img

With over 2 billion users, WhatsApp is the most popular mobile messaging app in the world. One of the reasons WhatsApp has stayed so popular is its commitment to privacy. This week, the company is introducing a few new privacy features, including the long-awaited ability to leave a group chat without alerting everyone.

WhatsApp update adds silent group chat exits

If you use WhatsApp regularly, you have probably experienced the drama that comes along with someone leaving a group chat, because no one could leave quietly.

Previously, WhatsApp would send a notification to the entire group whenever someone left. If you weren’t expecting that person to leave, everyone would inevitably have something to say about their departure. It was a strange and pointless distraction.

In the next update, WhatsApp will put an end to the drama. Later this month, only the group admins will receive a notification when you leave a group chat. The rest of the group will find out when they check the list of participants or try to tag you.

For years, I’ve wondered why this wasn’t the default behavior or even an option in settings. Now we can all finally leave group chats without prompting a slew of DMs asking us why we left. Undoubtedly my most highly-anticipated feature in months.

Hide online status and block screenshots

In addition to letting users leave group chats silently, WhatsApp will also let them hide their online status. This is a feature that has been in testing for some time. Later this month, you will be able to choose who can see when you are online.

Once the feature arrives, you can effectively enter “stealth mode” on WhatsApp. If you set your Last Seen status in the Privacy section of the Settings menu to “Nobody” and set your online status to “Same as Last Seen,” you will effectively be invisible while using WhatsApp. This is a feature that users have been requesting for years.

Finally, WhatsApp is enabling screenshot blocking for View Once messages. Previously, it was possible to take a screenshot of a photo or video that the sender only wanted you to see once. WhatsApp will now block you when you try to take a screenshot.

Read More

Latest news

These New Photos of Lindsay Lohan’s Christmas Movie Are So Fetch

Lindsay Lohan's "Confessions of a Teenage Drama Queen" -- Look Back!Lindsay Lohan has us circling our calendars for one...

Emily Ratajkowski Slams Blonde for “Fetishizing Female Pain”

Emily Ratajkowski & Husband Sebastian Bear-McClard SPLITEmily Ratajkowski is sounding off about Netflix's new film, Blonde.  While admitting she hasn't...

Joshua Jackson Details His Biggest Lesson About Fatherhood

Joshua Jackson exclusively told E! News what he has learned since becoming a dad to his two-year-old "boss lady"...

Kesha’s Mom Addresses That Jeffery Dahmer “Cannibal” Lyric

Kesha Addresses That GHOST SEX RumorPebe Sebert is setting the record straight on Kesha's lyrics. After the "Take It Off"...
- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_imgspot_imgspot_img
- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_imgspot_imgspot_img

“Saddened” Try Guys Break Down Timeline of Ned Fulmer Cheating Scandal

Ned Fulmer Leaves The Try Guys After "Workplace Relationship"The Try Guys are trying to move on without Ned Fulmer. On...

Girlfriend of Late Football Star Spencer Webb Shares Sex of Their Baby

Nearly three months after Spencer Webb's death, his pregnant girlfriend Kelly Kay sent the athlete a message about their...

Must read

- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_imgspot_img

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you